Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. Patron Login Number & Password are required for most Databases. Please visit or contact the Library if you require a login setup.
Auto Repair Reference Center [Patron Login required] – Covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ. Video Tutorial [4:30 minutes]
Canadian Points of View – [Patron Login required] – contains more than 180 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Consumer Reports Online – [Contact Library for site login information] – contains Consumer Reports current and past publications. Consumer Reports is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves. This Library subscription is for information purposes only. No offers/promotions/additional subscriptions or purchases are authorized.
EBSCOhost periodicals – [Patron login required] – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
eLibraries – [Patron login required] – You can choose to download an eBook to read on your e-reader, smartphone or computer, or you can download an audiobook to listen to on your mobile device. Once you are logged in, proceed with your checkout, or if you are new to the site click on the ? to access OverDrive Help, Applications, Library lending policies, Recommendations, and Support.
Explora Canada – [Patron Login required] – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – [Patron login required] – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Global Road Warrior – [user name: ldblibrary; password: travel] – The ultimate guide to the world for travelers. This database cover 175 different countries with 121 topics for each country. Features culture, history, language (basic words and phrases), and global travel questions.
Home Improvements Reference Center database – [Patron login required] – A definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. This comprehensive resource contains over 25 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images. Additionally, the database contains full-text magazines. Video Tutorial (5 min)
Language Portal of Canada – showcases Canadian expertise in the area of language. The creators of the Language Portal of Canada have gathered a wealth of resources to help you communicate more effectively in English and French or to improve your skills in either language. NEW Mobile Linguistic App available!. The Language Portal of Canada has a parallel French language site: Le Portail linguistique du Canada.
NoveList Plus – [Patron login required] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
OneClickDigital – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the OneClickDigital app.
RBDigital eMagazines – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center – [Patron login required] – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered. Video Tutorial [3 minutes]